46 Comments

I like the tied off peg. I suggested this to an experienced climber a couple of years ago and he had never heard of the technique. PS. We've all met Pat at one time or another 😜

Expand full comment

I’d buy it. Though than thought how a second edition of your rope soloing book done more in your style from Down and Higher Education would be pretty sweet. Especially seeing a lot of the posts on the Facebook rope soloing page that makes me wonder how we ever made it as a species.

Expand full comment

Great idea! I would really buy it.

Expand full comment

Great idea. Down in both iterations had become a main start in our club. A new generation is getting out!

Expand full comment

I am unbelievably excited for this possibility, I'd love to see it. (incidentally, I teach people to build anchors for a living, and both the example diagrams are completely novel concepts for me)

Expand full comment

Write it ! The life you save may be..... mine.

Expand full comment

I can’t wait to get the book in my hands!

Expand full comment

"Down" was worth the wait and I would back this one too. There isn't anyone else creating these types of works, and it's valuable.

Expand full comment

I think components of an anchor (carabiner, knot, pro etc) are like words in a vocabulary and I aim for eloquent anchors! Yep, got a few of your books now so will add this one to improve my vocabulary.

Expand full comment

Great idea. There’s an art to both building a belay and also belaying itself. Indoor, outdoor, multi pitch, sport, ice, trad and rope solo. With many transitioning from indoor to out the various techniques and tips are invaluable but also having a discipline around your mindset and the dangers of drifting off when ‘just belaying’. Found the Down book awesome.

Missing your great podcasts.... helped me get through lockdown 2 when I was aimlessly wandering about the streets of Edinburgh. 😀

Expand full comment

Really stoked about this one ! I loved Higher Education and Down, I think that something focused on belays would be really useful as the literature is quite complex and a little confused.

Knowing the strength and the nuances of different belays could be really valuable and save some lives

Expand full comment

I love the idea. Take my money. Please!

Expand full comment

I really like that idea and will definetly keep a space on my bookshelf for it. Knowledge coming through experience is one of the most preciouse thing. You have got my support. Go for it.

Expand full comment
founding

Great idea

Let us know how to sign up

And to publicise the Kickstarter

Expand full comment

I feel like this would be a great addition to down, belays have changed in recent years may to bolts in the populated climbing areas. Leaving a new climbing not knowing the difference between a marginal belay and strong belay. Problem solving for this and how to be safe while doing so can be big learning curves.

I Like it and I also appreciate your insights to social media, I would happily donate thru your website and even pass the info on to other friends todo the same.

Expand full comment

Having moved a few years back (to Europe from the US), I find now that mostly I end up on single pitch or bolted belays, and this is the same during the occasional trip to Yosemite. But I used to primarily climb in no-bolts allowed multi-pitch routes, including at the belays. Back then, I got to experience the pleasure of solving the puzzle of creating a safe belay, as well as the panic and frustration of coming to the end of a long pitch with a rack so depleted that my first thoughts were "Oops, we're f**ked!" It's something I miss.

I've read 5 of your books, so perhaps positively inclined to any suggestion of you writing another. So, keep that in mind with my feedback. But, in my experience, there must be a lot of good stories, filled with emotion and useful learnings, on how to manage the belay - whether it's how to turn a dicey situation into a safe one or manage through the risk. I'd love to hear your stories. This would fill in that gap in what I'm missing and inspire me to get back to the bolt free world.

Expand full comment

Excellent idea Andy.. As thorough as you are it will sell, go for it. I will buy it.

Regarding Pat, made that same mistake too one time.. learned that lesson..

Expand full comment

Count me in.

Expand full comment

I'm in, tell us how we support you/it.

Expand full comment

I love the idea. I think it's a doable project, and having a target number like 100 examples will help you stay focused and not spend too much of your life on it.

Expand full comment

I bought Down from kickstart project and i have anothers books writed by you...im already excited with this another project ... Go forward...

Expand full comment

Andy I think that this is a great idea. There's a lot of stuff on Instagram and YouTube about various methods if belaying but what's missing is your perspective - they all assume that there are either two bomber placements to provide redundancy and security or there's more that can be stiched together. The missing bit is what if there's nothing there that you'd trust but you've run out of rope and you have to belay (or simul climb). I'd buy a copy.

Expand full comment

I'll buy a copy

Expand full comment

I really like down so I am hopefully looking forward to another great addition to the series

Expand full comment

I’d buy it. But then again, I’ve bought every book you’ve written and published I think. Go for it!

Expand full comment

Great idea, do it.

Expand full comment

Looks you found a new book...!! I really like the boundarys where you move (me, myself & I, higher education, down) so why not! Your ilustration skill clear the ideas, and your knowlege will help the comunity.

Expand full comment

Yep.

Expand full comment

Given the fact that you could probably do a book on 1001 belays, I think a book covering the 100 most diverse belays in a detailed but concise manner is a really good idea! I'll buy it and support it in advance if necessary (as with Down on Kickstarter).

In other words, "SHUT UP AND AKE MY MONEY!!!"

Expand full comment

Loved Down, this sounds interesting.

Expand full comment

Having a repository of knowledge/techniques is always valuable but... 100 belays? Might this end up being gnat’s whiskers ie so finely divided and potentially elaborate that the mental stamina demanded from the climber/reader will be too much? A few simple proven techniques seem to have kept most of us alive....

Expand full comment